This is the beauty of free press

Someone said "it’s truly ironic that they take to the streets protesting in favour of PRC –  the very thing they cannot do in PRC. "

The folks across town did a good job on this report of a demonstration/counter-demonstration at UCLA.

This entry was posted in Olympic. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This is the beauty of free press

  1. AnAutumnAfternoon says:

    You are right, but what would you have done differently in China if you were born in mainland, instead of Hong Kong? Chinese censorship and restraints are notoriously horrible, but ironically people live in so-called free media society are more prone to brain-wash. Look what the British and Russians did in the 1800th to Tibet, and what the CIA has done for Dalai Lama since he fled. Are they sincerely concerned with the good of Tibetans? Give me a break. Don\’t be so sarcastic about the demonstrations of Chinese. There are too positive implications: A potion of them will go back to China, and bring back with them thoughts of freedom; Asian Americans in the US will become more aware of the power of speaking up, instead of being silently exploited as Iris Chang\’s book depicts.

  2. AnAutumnAfternoon says:

    Just want to let you know, yesterday I attended a small sized anti-CNN protest in front of the CNN  headquarter in Atlanta. I met a guy who attended 6.4 in 1989. Before I met him, I was totally on the side of the students. I was really amazed by what he told me yesterday. He said that he felt really sorry for what he and his peers had done, and he believed that the government was right in the crackdown in 1989. If it were not for the incident, the democratic progress in China could have been much better. When it came back to the 1980s, public protest or demonstration even did not  need governmental approval. He told me the reason that he came to protest against CNN  was for atonement.

  3. K says:

    "…but what would you have done differently in China if you were born in mainland, instead of Hong Kong? "
     
    — Frankly, I have no idea what\’s this mean?  Do you mean, since I come from HK, so, I have no knowledge, no experience , or  no right to say such thing to China??  Please stop accusing me on "where did I come from" or such issue in the future.  Question like "what\’s the benefit to HK people if Tibet is independent?"  It\’s completely nonsense to ask such a stupid question.  People who were born in rurual China might have different views from those urban people.  So, will you ask the same question?  Or, have you simply assumed "China" is a consistent concept in all kind of topics, while "Hong Kong" will definitely be different from the whole "China"? 
     
    It\’s absolutely absurd and offensive to have such an atonement. 

  4. AnAutumnAfternoon says:

    No offense, just want you to put on the shoes of people who live in mainland. What I meant was, since you grew up in Hong Kong, you probably had more chance to voice yourself than people grew up in mainland. If I were you, I would say such a thing at a safe place too. But probably political environment difference plays a key role here. I agree it is as ironic as you describe, but what I don\’t like is the fact that PRC is more demonized by the western media as it should be, and you seem to have been heavily influenced by them. Before the Tibet riot, I held very similar view points as you do now, and I thought the belief that the western society is conspiring against Chinese was a joke. But now my schema is shifted by discovering the vicious nature of western media. I was astonished too when the guy said that to me. This may not change my sympathy toward the victims, but at least I believe it helps me to gain a more complete picture to meet a person who actually experienced the incidence. I don\’t mean to upset you, but I wish you be more cautious of the possibly distorted information that you might obtain.

Leave a Reply

